Clarinet and Piano


This work was inspired by a line drawing of 'Laugharne' by Mike Brown.

Rather than basing the music entirely on the feeling created in the poem by Dylan Thomas, the music was truly evoked by a combination of the artwork, poetry and Dylan Thomas' own life.

There are elements of mystery, calmness and tranquillity juxtaposed against brash rhythmic propulsion and 'groovy' passages evoking the fun and oftentimes raucous nature of the infamous Welsh poet.

First performance:

Hephzibah Leafe (Clarinet) / Owain Llwyd (Piano).
Final Recital, 2014.

Second performance:

Peryn Clement-Evans, Ensemble Cymru.
Dylan Thomas inspired tour.



Audio: Mockup created with virtual samples.